2-20-2014 Lowe’s Senior Class Awards

February 20 2014


Softball Candidates Announced for 2014 Senior CLASS Award
OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (February 19, 2014) – Thirty NCAA® softball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate softball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2014 candidate class includes 13 student-athletes who have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Four were named to the CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-American team, and nine were members of the National Fastpitch Coaches Association All-America team in 2013.

The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Women’s College World Series® in Oklahoma City May 29 through June 4.

For more information on all the candidates, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.


Softball Candidates

Elizabeth Arana, Stephen F. Austin Mari Majam, Northwestern
Kate Bowen, Manhattan Destinee Martinez, Oklahoma
Morgan Boyd, Norfolk State Jayme Mask, Boston
Hannah Campbell, South Alabama Sara Moulton, Minnesota
Becca Changstrom, Creighton Sara Nevins, South Florida
Tatum Edwards, Nebraska Erika Polidori, Oakland
Dallas Escobedo, Arizona State Hannah Rogers, Florida
Brittany Gardner, Loyola (Chicago) Alysha Rudnik, Georgia Tech
Jennifer Gilbert, Ball State Kourtney Salvarola, South Florida
Meghan Harman, Loyola Marymount Nicole Sappingfield, Michigan
Kaila Hunt, Alabama Madison Shipman, Tennessee
Kaitlin Inglesby, Washington Jayna Spivey, Southern Illinois
Katie Keller, Louisville Andie Varsho, Purdue
Kasey Lange, Harvard Bailey Wigness, Arizona State
Aubrey Mable, Bryant Laura Winter, Notre Dame


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *