2-22-2012 February 22 2012 Update

February 22 2012 Update

Three states, Canada to host 2012 USA Softball Women’s National Team


OKLAHOMA CITY — The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America announced today that the 2012 USA Softball Women’s National Team will participate in exhibition doubleheaders June 14 in Summersville, W.Va., and June 18 in Ashland, Ohio, before beginning international play in Oklahoma City and continuing on to Canada. Oklahoma City will host the team June 23 for a special exhibition Title IX 40th Anniversary Celebration Game against Canada and June 27-July 2 for the World Cup of Softball.


Later this month, tickets to the Title IX 40th Anniversary Celebration Game and all-session tickets for the World Cup of Softball will go on sale through SoftballOutlet.com. Tickets for the doubleheader exhibitions against the USA Softball Women’s Elite National Team, which serve as preparation for the team’s three international competitions, will be on sale this spring.


The Women’s National Team is slated to compete June 27-July 2 at the World Cup of Softball in Oklahoma City, July 4-9 at the Canadian Open FastPitch International Championship in Surrey, B.C., Canada, and July 13-22 at the International Softball Federation (ISF) Women’s World Championship in Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada. The 2012 USA Softball Women’s Elite National Team was also scheduled to compete at the World University Softball Championship, Aug. 4-10, in Colorado Springs, Colo., but the tournament was canceled earlier this month.


In 2010, the United States won a seventh consecutive World title, bringing the program to nine overall Gold Medals at the Women’s World Championship. USA Softball comes into the 2012 event having won the recent World Cup of Softball, the fifth consecutive time Team USA has won that tournament, and the Pan American Games. The 2011 USA Softball Junior Women’s National Team closed out the year for USA Softball, winning the ISF Junior Women’s World Championship.


2012 USA Softball Women’s National Team Schedule


June 10-12, 2012

Women’s National Team Selection Camp

Ashland, Ohio


June 14, 2012

Exhibition doubleheader at 6 p.m.

Women’s National Team vs. Women’s Elite National Team

Summersville, W.Va.


June 18, 2012

Exhibition doubleheader at 6:30 p.m.

Women’s National Team vs. Women’s Elite National Team

Ashland, Ohio


June 23, 2012

Title IX 40th Anniversary Celebration Game

Women’s National Team vs. Canada

Oklahoma City


June 27-July 2, 2012

World Cup of Softball

Oklahoma City


July 4-9, 2012

Canadian Open FastPitch Championship

Surrey, B.C., Canada


July 13-22, 2012

ISF Women’s World Championship

Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada


Schedule subject to change


In January, 12 athletes were named to the 17-member USA Softball Women’s National Team roster by the USA Softball Women’s National Team Selection Committee (WNTSC). Athletes already on the team are Valerie Arioto (Pleasanton, Calif./Cal senior), Kaitlin Cochran (Yorba Linda, Calif./Arizona State 2009), Lauren Gibson (Pasadena, Md./Tennessee junior), Ashley Holcombe (Fayetteville, Ga./Alabama 2009), Molly Johnson (Tucson, Ariz./Kentucky 2010), Stacy May-Johnson (Reno, Nev./Iowa 2006), Jenae Leles (Sacramento, Calif./Arizona 2009), Michelle Moultrie (Jacksonville, Fla./Florida senior), Keilani Ricketts (San Jose, Calif./Oklahoma junior), Jordan Taylor (Valencia, Calif./Michigan 2011), Rhea Taylor (Buford, Ga./Missouri 2011) and Chelsea Thomas (Pleasantville, Iowa/Missouri junior). All were members of the 2011 USA Softball Women’s National Team.


Athletes who have accepted an invitation to try-out for one of the five remaining spots on the Women’s National Team and the 2012 USA Softball Women’s Elite National Team are Lauren Chamberlain (Trabuco Canyon, Calif./Oklahoma freshman), Whitney Canion (Aledo, Texas/Baylor junior), Raven Chavanne (Thousand Oaks, Calif./Tennessee junior), Dallas Escobedo (Glendale, Ariz./Arizona State sophomore), Kenzie Fowler (Tucson, Ariz./Arizona junior), Taylor Hoagland (Flower Mound, Texas/Texas junior), Meagan May (Spring, Texas/Texas A&M junior), Megan Langenfeld (Bakersfield, Calif./UCLA 2010), Christi Orgeron (New Orleans, La./ULL senior), Ellen Renfroe (Jackson, Tenn./Tennessee sophomore) and Jessica Shults (Valencia, Calif./Oklahoma junior). Amanda Chidester (Allen Park, Mich./Michigan senior) also recently accepted an invitation for Selection Camp. With the exception of Chidester and Renfroe, all athletes have played USA Softball previously on a Women’s National Team, Women’s Futures National Team or Junior Women’s National Team.


Throughout the spring, additional athletes will be invited to the June Selection Camp in Ashland, where the five remaining members of the Women’s National Team and the 17-athlete roster for the Women’s Elite National Team will be decided. Following the Selection Camp, members of both teams will play each other in exhibition games and then the Women’s National Team will move on to competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *