4-12-2012 North to the Yukon

Game schedule released for the 2012 ISF XIII Women’s World Championship


OKLAHOMA CITY — The International Softball Federation (ISF), softball’s world governing body, announced the game schedule for the 16-nation ISF XIII Women’s World Championship taking place this July 13-22 in Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada. The ten-day competition features 66 match-ups between the world’s best, including a seven-game set for the USA Softball Women’s National Team.

Click here for a complete schedule.

Team USA will open play against Venezuela July 13 at 2 p.m. CST (see below for complete USA game schedule) and will continue pool play through July 19. Playoffs begin at 2 p.m. CST on July 20 and end with the Gold Medal game at 6 p.m. on July 22. Looking to capture an eighth-consecutive Gold Medal, Team USA comes in as the defending World Champions, having defeated Japan in the Gold Medal game of the last edition of the event, which took place two years ago in Caracas, Venezuela. The two teams are in separate pools for this year’s world championship, which means the opportunity for a rematch would not come until a possible playoff matchup.

Among the women in Red, White and Blue are current World Champions Kaitlin Cochran (Yorba Linda, Calif.) and Ashley Holcombe (Fayetteville, Ga.) as well as 10 additional athletes who have already been named to the 2012 USA Softball Women’s National Team. Those members are Valerie Arioto (Pleasanton, Calif./Cal senior), Lauren Gibson (Pasadena, Md./Tennessee junior), Molly Johnson (Tucson, Ariz./Kentucky 2010), Stacy May-Johnson (Reno, Nev./Iowa 2006), Jenae Leles (Sacramento, Calif./Arizona 2009), Michelle Moultrie (Jacksonville, Fla./Florida senior), Keilani Ricketts (San Jose, Calif./Oklahoma junior), Jordan Taylor (Valencia, Calif./Michigan 2011), Rhea Taylor (Buford, Ga./Missouri 2011) and Chelsea Thomas (Pleasantville, Iowa/Missouri junior). Five additional members will be added to the team following the June 10-12 USA Softball Women’s National Team Selection Camp, held in Ashland, Ohio.

Complete USA Schedule (all times in CST):


July 13 – USA vs. Venezuela – 2 p.m.

July 14 – USA vs. Czech Republic – 6:30 p.m.

July 15 – USA vs. Puerto Rico – 4 p.m.

July 16 – USA vs. South Africa – 4 p.m.

July 17 – USA vs. China – 9 p.m.

July 18 – USA vs. Netherlands – 6:30 p.m.

July 19 – USA vs. Dominican Republic – 4 p.m.

July 20-22 – Playoffs

The 16 teams that will compete are: Australia, Canada, China, Chinese Taipei, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Great Britain, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Puerto Rico, South Africa, USA, and Venezuela.


In addition to the ISF Women’s World Championship, the Women’s National Team will compete in exhibition games against the Women’s Elite National Team in Summersville, W.V. and Ashland, Ohio, the Title IX 40th Anniversary Celebration Game vs. Canada in Oklahoma City, the World Cup of Softball in Oklahoma City and the Canadian Open Fast Pitch International Championship in Surrey, B.C., Canada. Click here for ticket information.


MEDIA: For more information on the ISF World Championship, please contact ISF Director of Communications Bruce Wawrzyniak at brucew@ISFsoftball.org, +1-813-864-0100, or +1-813-453-8762.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *