4-13-2011 25 POY Finalists

Top 25 Finalists for USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Announced
Oklahoma City, Okla. – The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America announced today the Top 25 Finalists for the 2011 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, which will be announced at the opening of the 2011 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City. This award, which is considered the most prestigious honor in Division I women’s collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. In its 10th year, past winners of this award include UCLA’s Stacey Nuveman, Florida State’s Jessica Van der Linden, three-time winner Texas pitcher Cat Osterman, Tennessee’s Monica Abbott, Virginia Tech’s Angela Tincher and two-time winner Washington’s Danielle Lawrie.

The Top 25 list represents 17 schools and six different NCAA Division I Conferences. The list is comprised of nine seniors, six juniors, nine sophomores and one freshman. The 2011 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year will be chosen from the 25 finalists.

2011 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Top 25 Finalists

Name (School) – Year – Position – Hometown
*Emily Allard (Northwestern) – Sophomore – Infield/Outfield – Antioch, Calif.
*Lexy Bennett (Texas) – Junior – Infield – Kingwood, Texas
Katelyn Boyd (Arizona State) – Junior – Infield – Phoenix, Ariz.
Kayla Braud (Alabama) – Sophomore – Infield – Eugene, Ore.
Stephanie Brombacher (Florida) – Senior  – Pitcher – Pembroke Pines, Fla.
*Megan Bush (Florida) – Senior – Utility – Anaheim Hills, Calif.
Raven Chavanne (Tennessee) – Sophomore – Outfield – Thousand Oaks, Calif.
*Kat Dotson (Tennessee) – Sophomore – Outfield – Savannah, Ga.
Kelsi Dunne (Alabama) – Senior – Pitcher – Port Orange, Fla.
*Taylor Edwards (Nebraska) – Freshman – Catcher – Murietta, Calif.
Kenzie Fowler (Arizona) – Sophomore – Pitcher – Tucson, Ariz.
Alisa Goler (Georgia) – Senior – Infield – Frankfort, Ill.
Ashley Hansen (Stanford) – Junior – Infield – Chandler, Ariz.
Andrea Harrison (UCLA) – Junior – Outfield – Garden Grove, Calif.
Brittany Lastrapes (Arizona) – Senior – Outfield – Laguna Niguel, Calif.
Blaire Luna (Texas ) – Sophomore – Pitcher – Austin, Texas
*Christi Orgeron (ULL) – Junior – Utility – New Orleans, La.
Toni Paisley (East Carolina) – Senior – Pitcher/Utility – Lakewood, Calif. 
Keilani Ricketts (Oklahoma) – Sophomore –  Pitcher – San Jose, Calif.
Jenn Salling (Washington) – Senior – Infield – Port Coquitlam, B.C., Canada
Dorian Shaw (Michigan) – Senior – Infield – Burke, Va.
Jessica Shults (Oklahoma) – Sophomore – Catcher – Valencia, Calif.
Jordan Taylor (Michigan) – Senior – Pitcher – Valencia, Calif.
*Chelsea Thomas (Missouri) – RS-Sophomore – Pitcher – Pleasantville, Iowa
Niki Williams (Washington) – Junior – Outfield – Mission Viejo, Calif.
*Was not on Top 50 Watch list

Just days before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be named and released on May 11. The three finalists will be announced May 25th while the winner of the 2011 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced on May 32st prior to the start of the 2011 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *