5-5-10 Junior Women’s Selection Camp


More than 40 athletes to attend USA Softball Junior WNT selection camp

OKLAHOMA CITY – The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America announced today the 42 athletes who have accepted an invitation to attend the 2010 USA Softball Junior Women’s National Team selection camp, June 10-13, at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, Calif. The athletes, who are age 18 and under, represent 13 states: Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Kansas, Maryland, Missouri, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Texas and Utah.

The 17 athletes selected for the 2010 USA Softball Junior Women’s National Team will be announced on June 15. The team will compete later this year at the III Pan American Softball Championship (18-and-under), August 6-15, in Bogota, Colombia. The event serves as a qualifier for the International Softball Federation (ISF) IX Jr. Women’s World Championship (19-and-under), December 6-17, 2011, in Cape Town, South Africa.

Athletes attending the selection camp are:

Marisa Bast (Orange, Calif./Explosion)

Bianka Bell (Brandon, Fla./Florida Tampa Mustangs Bell)

Nancy Bowling (Simi Valley, Calif./California Batbusters)

Ally Carda (Elk Grove, Calif./California Lady Magic)

Lauren Chamerlain (Trabuco Canyon, Calif./California Worth Firecrackers)

Erica Cippolloni (Philadelphia, Pa./New Jersey Breakers)

Cheyenne Cordes (Fairfield, Calif./California Lady Magic)

Cheyenne Coyle (West Hills, Calif./California Batbusters)

Jessica Damico (Gray Summit, Mo./Missouri Chaos Furrer)

Shelby Davis (Goddard, Kan./Kansas Mustangs)

Hailey Decker (Keizer, Ore./Oregon Northwest Bullets Gold)

D’anna Devine (Morrisvile, Calif./California Worth Firecrackers)

Taylor Dewbery (McAllister, Okla./Oklahoma Diamond Girls)

Taylor Edwards (Murrieta, Calif./California Corona Angels)

Dallas Escobedo (Glendale, Ariz./Arizona Hotshots Gold)

Amber Freeman (Lakewood, Calif./California Batbusters)

Erin Gabriel (Poland, Ohio/Valley Extreme Blue)

Chelsea Goodacre (Temecula, Calif./California Fury)

Lauren Haeger (Peoria, Ariz./Arizona Hotshots-Householder)

Meghan  Harman (Trabuco Canyon, Calif./California Raiders)

Andrea Hawkins (Bay City, Texas/Texas Impact)

Kaitlin Inglesby (Portland, Ore./Oregon Northwest Blaze)

Breana Kostreba (Aptos, Calif./California Sorcerers)

Kylee Lahners (Laguna Hills, Calif./California Worth Firecrackers)

Samantha Lenahan (Lawrenceville, Ga./Georgia Elite)

Destinee Martinez (Corona, Calif./California Corona Angels)

Alexis Mercado (Temecula, Calif./So Cal Athletics)

Shelby Pendley (Rio Rancho, N.M./New Mexico Sundancers)

Jessica Plaza (Huntington Beach, Calif./California Cruisers – Mel)

Sierra Rodriguez (Chandler, Ariz./Killer Bees 16-Under)

Sierra Romero (Murrieta, Calif./Orange County Batbusters)

Kourtney Salvarola (Arnold, Md./Team New Jersey)

Madison Shipman (Valencia, Calif./California Choppers)

Delaney Spaulding (Rancho Cucamonga, Calif./Orange County Batbusters – Hanning)

McKenzie St. Clair (Highland, Utah/Arizona Hotshots)

Kelsey Stewart (Arkansas City, Kan./Kansas Mustangs)

Cheyanne Tarango (Anaheim Hills, Calif./California Worth Firecrackers)

Darian Tautalafua (Carson, Calif./Orange County Batbusters – Hanning)

Nyree White (Eugene, Ore./Oregon Thunder)

Hallie Wilson (Tustin, Calif./California Worth Firecrackers)

Chelsea Zgrabik (Venice, Fla./Florida Tropic Wave)

Courtney Ziese (Canyon Country, Calif./California Choppers)

To be eligible for selection, athletes had to meet the ISF age requirements for the 18-Under event in Colombia and the 19-Under event South Africa by having been born January 1, 1992, or later.

Karen Johns (Starkville, Miss./asst. coach Mississippi State) will lead the Junior Women’s Team in Colombia as Head Coach. Suzy Brazney (Huntington Beach, Calif./head coach Golden West College), Stacy Iveson (Prescott, Ariz./head coach Yavapai College) and Pat Murphy (Northport, Ala./head coach Alabama) will join Johns on staff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *