6-15-2011 The NCAA Tournament


 INDIANAPOLIS – Arizona State University was named the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Division I Softball Championship today when the NCAA Division I Softball Committee announced the 64-team field. The Sun Devils, champions of the Pacific-10 Conference, are 50-6 and will play North Dakota State University, an automatic qualifier from the Summit League, May 20, in front of a home crowd in Tempe.

 Thirty conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 34 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and will play at campus sites this weekend.

 Team pairings were determined by geographical proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during regional competition, when possible.

  The Big 12 Conference led all conferences with eight teams in the championship. The Southeastern Conference and Pac-10 placed seven in the championship while five teams from Conference USA were selected. California State University, Fresno, remains the only team to be selected to all 30 championships. Four teams are making their initial appearances in the tournament: Jackson State University, Jacksonville University, University of Memphis and New Mexico State University.

Only 10 schools have been crowned the NCAA Division I softball champion since the tournament started in 1982, and nine are in this year’s bracket.


      * Indicates host institution          

Tempe Regional – May 20-22 at Tempe, Arizona

No. 1 seed Arizona St.* (50-6) vs. North Dakota St. (30-25)

San Diego St. (32-19) vs. Long Beach St. (37-16)

 College Station Regional – May 20-22 at College Station, Texas

 LSU (38-16) vs. Syracuse (44-11)

 Sacred Heart (29-19) vs. No. 16 Texas A&M* (41-13)

  Norman Regional – May 20-22 at Norman, Oklahoma

  No. 9 seed Oklahoma* (37-16) vs. Iona (31-20)

  Missouri St. (29-23) vs. Tulsa (43-13)

  Tucson Regional – May 20-22 at Tucson, Arizona

   Texas Tech (40-14) vs. New Mexico St. (43-15)

   Harvard (36-14) vs. No. 8 Arizona* (40-16)

   Columbia Regional – May 20-22 at Columbia, Missouri

  No. 5 seed Missouri* (46-7) vs. Illinois St. (35-17)

 DePaul (39-13) vs. Indiana (37-16)

 Seattle Regional – May 19-21 at Seattle, Washington

 Auburn (39-17) vs. BYU (38-16)

Portland St. (34-16) vs. No. 12 seed Washington* (34-14)

 University Park Regional – May 20-22 at University Park, Pennsylvania

 No. 13 seed Oregon (39-14) vs. Albany (NY) (28-21)

 Fordham (41-17) vs. Penn St.* (27-22)

Gainesville Regional – May 20-22 at Gainesville, Florida

 UCLA (33-17) vs. Jacksonville (43-14)

  Bethune-Cookman (33-24) vs. No. 4 seed Florida* (47-9)

Austin Regional – May 20-22 at Austin, Texas

 No. 3 seed Texas* (44-8) vs. Texas St. (33-23)   

 Houston (40-16) vs. La.-Lafayette (49-9)           

 Knoxville Regional – May 20-22 at Knoxville, Tennessee

 Oklahoma St. (37-17) vs. Georgia Tech (44-10)  

 Liberty (30-28) vs. No. 14 seed Tennessee* (47-10)

  College Park Regional – May 20-22 at College Park, Maryland

  No. 11 seed Baylor (40-12) vs. Lehigh (33-21)   

  East Carolina (39-20) vs. Maryland* (39-17)      

 Athens Regional – May 20-22 at Athens, Georgia

  Florida St. (30-26) vs. UAB (38-17)       

  Georgia St. (36-23) vs. No. 6 seed Georgia* (47-12)      

  Louisville Regional – May 20-22 at Louisville, Kentucky

   No. 7 seed California (39-10) vs. Jacksonville St. (39-19)          

   Ill.-Chicago (25-22) vs. Louisville* (36-18)        

 Ann Arbor Regional – May 20-22 at Ann Arbor, Michigan

  Notre Dame (45-9) vs. Kentucky (36-14)

   Western Mich. (25-28) vs. No. 10 seed Michigan* (51-4)

  Stanford Regional – May 20-22 at Stanford, California

  No. 15 seed Stanford* (38-15) vs. Pacific (37-17)          

  Fresno St. (34-17) vs. Nebraska (39-12)  

  Tuscaloosa Regional – May 20-22 at Tuscaloosa, Alabama

   Chattanooga (42-12) vs. Memphis (35-12)          

Jackson St. (24-19) vs. No. 2 seed Alabama* (46-8)



STRUCTURE:    The Division I championship provides for a field of 64 teams. The championship will be three weekends of competition. Four teams will participate at each of 16 regional sites in a double-elimination tournament. Sixteen teams were seeded and placed at one of the regional sites. Two regional sites (Ann Arbor and Tempe) will be televised in their entirety on the ESPN family of networks.

 The regional winners will advance to super regional competition for a best-of-three series that will be conducted either May 26-27, May 27-28 or May 28-29 at eight campus sites. For the third consecutive year, all Super Regional games will be televised on the ESPN family of networks.

The remaining eight teams will advance to the WCWS, an eight-team, double-elimination tournament. The championship final will be a best-of-three-series. The WCWS will be conducted June 2-8 at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City.

SELECTION PROCESS:         The NCAA Division I Softball Committee selected teams from the following eight regions to participate in the championship:  Central, East, Northeast, South, Mideast, Midwest, West and Pacific. Thirty conferences have been granted automatic qualification for the 2011 championship. 

SEEDING, SITES:                     Teams were selected to the field of 64 teams. The top 16 teams were seeded in order, and the remaining teams were placed in regional brackets to create balanced competition and avoid conference match-ups, when possible.


America East – Albany (NY)

Atlantic Coast – Florida St.

Atlantic 10 – Fordham

Atlantic Sun – Jacksonville

Big East – Syracuse

Big South – Liberty

Big Ten – Michigan

Big 12 – Missouri

Big West – Pacific

Colonial Athletic – Georgia St.

Conference USA – East Carolina

Horizon League – Ill.-Chicago

Ivy Group – Harvard

Metro Atlantic – Iona

Mid-American – Western Mich.

Mid-Eastern – Bethune-Cookman

Missouri Valley – Missouri St.

Mountain West – BYU

Northeast – Sacred Heart

Ohio Valley – Jacksonville St.

Pacific-10 – Arizona St.

Pacific Coast – Portland St.

Patriot League – Lehigh

Southeastern – Tennessee

Southern – Chattanooga

Southland – Texas St.

Summit – North Dakota St.

Sun Belt – La.-Lafayette

Southwestern – Jackson St.

Western Athletic – New Mexico St.


Day Date Game Time (EST)* Network*
Thursday 6/2 1 1 p.m. ESPN2 HD/ESPN3.com
Thursday 6/2 2 3:30 p.m. ESPN2 HD/ESPN3.com
Thursday 6/2 3 7 p.m. ESPN2 HD/ESPN3.com
Thursday 6/2 4 9:30 p.m. ESPN2 HD/ESPN3.com
Friday 6/3 5 7 p.m. ESPN HD/ESPN3.com
Friday 6/3 6 9:30 p.m. ESPN HD/ESPN3.com
Saturday 6/4 7 Noon ESPN HD/ESPN3.com
Saturday 6/4 8 2:30 p.m. ESPN HD/ESPN3.com
Saturday 6/4 9 7 p.m. ESPN2 HD/ESPN3.com
Saturday 6/4 10 9:30 p.m. ESPN2 HD/ESPN3.com
Sunday 6/5 11 1 p.m. ESPN HD/ESPN3.com
Sunday 6/5 12 3:30 p.m. ESPN HD/ESPN3.com
Sunday 6/5 13 (if necessary) 7 p.m. ESPN2 HD/ESPN3.com
Sunday 6/5 14 (if necessary) 9:30 p.m. ESPN2 HD/ESPN3.com
Monday 6/6 Championship Final Game 1 8 p.m. ESPN2 HD/ESPN3.com
Tuesday 6/7 Championship Final Game 2 8 p.m. ESPN2 HD/ESPN3.com
Wednesday 6/8 Championship Final Game 3 (if necessary) 8 p.m. ESPN2 HD/ESPN3.com


* Please go to www.ncaa.com/broadcast for updates. Game times and networks are subject to change.

CHAMPIONSHIP NOTES:            2010 Highlights: The University of California, Los Angeles captured its 11th National Championship title defeating the University of Arizona 6-5 (eigth innings) and 15-9 in championships series games one and two, respectively. UCLA won the national title behind the efforts of Most Outstanding Player Megan Langenfeld and all-tournament team honoree Samantha Camuso and Andrea Harrison. UCLA completed the series with a record of 5-0.

For complete championship details log on to www.ncaa.com.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *