6-8-2011 June 8 2011 Update



Final statistics have been posted on www.spysoftball.org.

Also, the All-Tournament team was posted at the end of last night’s game summary.



2011 Easton “Team of the Year” Award Winners


OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla – The Easton Sports, Inc. 2011 Easton Fastpitch “Team of the Year” award winners were announced today.  The success these teams had this season provided fabulous visibility and coverage for the Easton brand.  Easton is proud to be the official equipment provider for each of these schools, as they are outstanding programs, and wonderful ambassadors for Easton:

2011 Easton “Teams of the Year”:

University of Florida, 2011 NCAA WCWS Runner-up

University of Alabama, 2011 NCAA WCWS Participant
University of California, Berkeley, 2011 NCAA WCWS Participant
University of Alabama in Huntsville, 2011 NCAA Division II National Champion Runner-up

California Baptist University, 2011 NAIA National Champion Runner-up

Shaw, Bandits defeat CrackerJacks in battle of sexes

ROSEMONT, Ill. — In the first Battle of the Sexes game to ever be played in a softball stadium, the Chicago Bandits of National Pro Fastpitch, and the Will County CrackerJacks of the Midwest Collegiate League battled it out in the ultimate test of softball and baseball proportions.

Both teams started out strong through the first part of the game, with Jamee Juarez surrendering just two hits through her three innings of pitching. With the CrackerJacks receiving their pitching help from Mark Brown, uncle of Bandits head coach Darrick Brown, the Bandits got on the board in the second inning.

With Dorian Shaw on base after recording her first professional career hit in the NPF, a Kristen Shifflett single scored Shaw to give the Bandits a 1-0 lead over the CrackerJacks.

“It felt great to get my first professional hit tonight,” said Shaw. “It was such a great atmosphere out there and we worked really hard as a team so it was nice to be able to contribute to the win.”

A double by Thompson later in the inning gave the Bandits a 3-0 lead heading into the third inning.

Going into the fourth, the Bandits made a pitching change sending Taryne Mowatt out to the circle. Walking three of the first four batters she faced, the CrackerJacks capitalized on a Bandits error to get on the board, 3-2. Mowatt settled down and was able to strike out the next three batters to end the inning.

Nikki Nemitz took her turn pitching during the sixth and seventh innings striking out a total of six CrackerJacks players. In the bottom of the sixth a Knauer single scored Galindo and Jager to put the Bandits ahead 6-2. Nemitz struck out the final three batters of the game to seal the win for the Bandits.

“This was an awesome game to play in,” said Shaw. “My first experience with the Battle of the Sexes was a great one. I can see this being a great draw for the fans and I look forward to playing against the boys again.”

On whether there was much difference between playing the boys or girls Shaw said “I noticed how fast the guys really are, but I think we showed them how hard our job is out there.”

With this win tonight, the Bandits improve their Battle of the Sexes record to 3-1

ASA Gold – Region 4 (South Atlantic) Qualifier
The ASA Region 4 (South Atlantic) 18-Gold Qualiier was held June 3-5 in Cary, NC. Two berths were awarded.

Order of Finish:

1st – Atlanta Vipers (Berry) – qualified
2nd – Atlanta Vipers Gold (Seamon) – qualified
3rd – East Cobb Bullets Gold (Pauly)
4th – Georgia Impact Gold (Miller)
T-5th – Easton Elite Gold (Sweatt)
T-5th – Georgia Knockouts (Kelly)


18 Gold Strike Force – Guerra:
National Letter of Intent Signings and Commitments

2011 – Megan Blank – University of Iowa
2011 – Alyssa Calderon – Caldwell College
2011 – Adrianna Cardoza – Cal State University of Bakersfield
2011 – Megan Fryday – Caldwell College
2011 – Chloe Kaneko – University of San Diego
2011 – Brianna Meyer – Indiana University
2011 – Bree Sandoval – Cal State University of Bakersfield
2011 – Miranda Tamayo – Indiana University
2011 – Bekah Sanchez – Iowa Western
2012 – Sarah Shadinger – Oregon State University
2012 – Emily Haslinger – UNLV
2012 – Sophie Slagle – UC Riverside

The National College Athletic Association’s (NCAA) Women’s College World Series wrapped up last night in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma (USA). While the event is the pinnacle for (female) college softball players (fast pitch), its being domestic in nature doesn’t mean there’s not an international element to it. The tournament received extensive broadcast coverage from ESPN, who had two-time Olympic softball medalists Michele Smith (Team USA, 1996 & 2000) and Jessica Mendoza (Team USA, 2004 & 2008) in analyst roles. There were also international connections within the coaching ranks. And, the tournament featured athletes who have been representing their country in international play. To name just a few, Britt Vonk of Cal played for the Netherlands at the 2008 Olympics. And, Jenna Caira of Syracuse and Kaia Parnaby of Hawaii played for Canada and Australia, respectively, at last year’s ISF XII Women’s World Championship in Venezuela.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *