National Team Camp Opens

For Immediate Release: 1/5/10

2010 USA Softball Women’s National Team Selection Camp Kicks Off Today

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. – The Amateur Softball Association of America (ASA) is pleased to announce that the 2010 USA Softball Women’s National Team (WNT) selection camp has officially kicked off this morning at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, Calif. The 17-member team plus alternates selected from this camp will represent USA Softball during the 2010 season.  The 2010 WNT will compete in the International Softball Federation’s XII Women’s World Championship held June 23-July 2, 2010 in Caracas, Venezuela.  The complete schedule of events for the 2010 season will be announced at a later date at

The attendees will go through a series of drills and scrimmage situations in front of the Women’s National Team Selection Committee that will choose the final team.

“The selection camp features all the factors that enable the committee to evaluate every player,” said USA Softball National Team Director Ronnie Isham. “It provides the selection committee the opportunity to see the athletes compete for a spot on the team by seeing them field balls, run the bases, play their position, hit against different pitchers, and much more. The scrimmages are also beneficial putting the athletes in real-game situations to see how they respond.”

The 2010 roster will be announced on January 11.

The 2010 Women’s National Team Selection Camp attendees include:

Monica Abbott – Salinas, Calif.
Valerie Arioto – Pleasanton, Calif.
Brandice Balschmiter – Newark, N.Y.
Chelsea Bramlett – Cordova, Tenn.
Courtney Bures – Haymarket, Va.
Katie Burkhart – San Luis Obispo, Calif.
Eileen Canney – Paradise, Calif.
Ashley Charters – Beaverton, Ore.
Kaitlin Cochran – Yorba Linda, Calif.
Andrea Duran– Selma, Calif.
Jennie Finch– La Mirada, Calif.
Vicky Galindo – Union City, Calif.
Alissa Haber – Newark, Calif.
Ashley Hansen – Chandler, Ariz.
Ashley Holcombe – Fayetteville, Ga.
Molly Johnson – Lexington, Ken.
Megan Langenfeld – Bakersfield, Calif.
Lauren Lappin – Anaheim, Calif.
Brittany Lastrapes – Laguna Niguel, Calif.
Jenae Leles – Fair Oaks, Calif.
Caitlin Lowe – Tustin, Calif.
Jessica Mendoza – Camarillo, Calif.
Stacey Nelson – Los Alamitos, Calif.
Cat Osterman – Houston, Texas
Amber Patton – Forsyth, Ill.
Brittany Rogers – Dacula, Ga.
Melissa Roth – Long Beach, Calif.
Taylor Schlopy – West Hills, Calif.
Angela Tincher – Eagle Rock, Va.
Natasha Watley – Irvine, Calif.
Tammy Williams – Roscoe, Mo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *