Update: 1/28/10


NASHVILLE – National Pro Fastpitch (NPF) and its four-affiliate teams will hold the 2010 NPF Senior Draft on Wednesday February 10, 2010 at 8PM EST.   The broadcast will be live from the Heritage Key Resort in Kissimmee, Florida.  This will be the second consecutive year the NPF will broadcast the Draft live but the first time on MLB.com.
“The College Senior Draft is a much anticipated event for the entire League.  We are always looking forward to the next talented group of outstanding athletes who will undoubtedly contribute positively the future of the NPF,” stated NPF Commissioner Cheri Kempf.  The NPF draft is sponsored by Miken.

The 2009 Draftees made a huge impact during the NPF Season.  Those players included Kaitlin Cochran (Akron) and NPF Rookie and Defensive Player of the Year Tammy Williams (Chicago).

Each team has at least three selections in the five-round draft. The USSSA Pride, the host of the 2010 Draft, will hold six of the 20 overall picks due to a 2009 draft-day trade with the Akron Racers.  The order of the Draft is as follows:

First Round:

1   1. USSSA Pride
2. Tennessee Diamonds
3. USSSA Pride from Akron Racers – 2009 trade
4. Chicago Bandits

Second Round:
5. USSSA Pride
6. Tennessee Diamonds
7. Akron Racers
8. Chicago Bandits

Third Round:
9.  USSSA Pride
10. Tennessee Diamonds
11. Akron Racers
12.  Chicago Bandits

Fourth Round:
13.  USSSA Pride
14. Tennessee Diamonds
15. USSSA Pride from Akron Racers – 2009 Trade
16. Chicago Bandits

Fifth Round:
17.  USSSA Pride
18.  Tennessee Diamonds
19.  Akron Racers
20.  Chicago Bandits

Visit www.profastpitch.com on February 10th for the LIVE link to watch the DRAFT!


BIRMINGHAM – The Southwestern Athletic Conference announced its 2010 preseason softball honors Thursday, with

Southern’s Audrey Phillips and Mississippi Valley State’s Lisa Jansen claiming top honors. The teams were voted on by

the schools’ coaches and sports information departments.

Phillips – a 5-foot-4 sophomore shortstop – has been named the 2010 Preseason Player of the Year. Phillips had an

exceptional freshman campaign in 2009 for the Jaguars. She ranked eighth in the conference and second on her team

with a .370 batting average. The Mansfield, TX native also finished the season ranked first in the SWAC in triples (8), third

in hits (54), sixth in doubles (11) and eighth in runs scored (33). Her efforts helped guide the Jaguars to a number one

seed in the Western division for the Conference tournament as well as a spot in the 2009 championship game. Along with

being named to the 2009 SWAC First-Team, Phillips garnered SWAC Freshman of the Year accolades.

Jansen – a 5-foot-9 senior from Dietzenbach, Germany – has been selected the Preseason Pitcher of the Year. In 2009,

Jansen ranked first on her team and second in the SWAC with a 2.64 earned run average. She also led the SWAC in wins

(15), opposing bating average (.216) and batters struck out (144). Jansen’s performance helped the Devilettes to a 17-0

conference record in 2009 and a sixth consecutive SWAC softball title. For her efforts, Jansen was named the 2009

SWAC Pitcher and Newcomer of the Year and a first-team honoree.

In the predicted order of finish, Southern and Mississippi Valley State have been selected to win its respective divisions in

2010. The two teams have met in the conference tournament championship game five times over the past six years with

the Devilettes emerging the victors in each game. MVSU has claimed the last six conference titles, while SU last won the

title in 2003.

In the Western division, Southern collected 11 first-place votes en route to 77 voting points. Grambling State (two firstplace

votes) was second with 57 points while Arkansas-Pine Bluff (one first-place vote) was third with 47 points. Texas

Southern (one first-place vote) registered 43 points and Prairie View A&M (two first-place votes) tallied 31 to round out the

Western division.

In the Eastern division, six-time defending champion Mississippi Valley State was chosen first with 14 first-place votes as

it received 82 points. Jackson State (three first-place votes) accumulated 65 points for second place while Alcorn State

with 44 points was picked third. Alabama State (49 pts) and Alabama A&M (25 pts) close out the Eastern divisional list.

Mississippi Valley State led the way with seven players chosen for preseason honors – four on first team. Southern had

five representatives on the preseason team, while Alabama State had three selections and Jackson State and Grambling

State each had two. Alabama A&M, Prairie View A&M and Texas Southern all had one player on the preseason squad.


Chelsea Whittle – Class of 2010 Georgia Fire 18 Gold (Neglia) Position: LHP/1st to Augusta State University DII

Tallahassee Community College 2010 commitments

Jessica Smith- South Carolina Elite

Jessica Cavallero-Nor Cal Assault

Lauren Deaton-Southern Force (IL)

Dallas Towns-Team North Florida gold

Gabby Bedard-Atlanta Vipers Vallery

Alexis Anderson-Georgia Knockouts gold

Andrea Monayarjia- Central Fla. Sting Black

Megan Oster- Team DeMarini

Ellen Roberts- NSW,Australia

Emily Smethurst- Victoria,Australia

Alanna Leasau- San Jose Lady Sharks-Piper

Devin Kochergen-Victory USA gold (CA)

Kirsten Grant-Ontario, Canada

Ally Ledenham-Florida Pride

Tallahassee Community College players moving on:

Allie Jest- University of Central Florida

Hannah Ojeda- Radford University

Mikaela Strickland- Pfeiffer University

Haley Stueckler- Towson University

Destinea Schneider-Francis Marion University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *